Quick Review: Due Date

Quick review of Due Date, mainly because I don’t have too much to say… 

Quite simply, I really liked this, found it hilarious, but I didn’t love it like I loved The Hangover. Zach Galifianakis is great at what he does here, and its pretty much the same character as he played in The Hangover (also a Todd Phillips movie), and I would hate to see him even attempt anything else. Though it may get repetitive after a few more movies, and it might lose its charm, he should really wait for that to happen before moving on. 

Robert Downey Jr. is great as well. Never really thought of him as that funny, and even in this, he’s not really the one providing the humor. But I love the dynamic between him and Zach. If it was played by anyone else, the character would have come across as quite a jerk, but somehow RDJ makes it work. 

I love how the jokes kept going. With a lot of comedies I feel that when the plot starts to wrap up, so do the jokes, but they just kept coming. I have to say though, some things weren’t that funny. They done some pretty bad stuff, like crashing into a police car intentionally, and stealing a car from an immigration dude, and they get away with it. I’m not saying it should have turned into a prison drama at that point, but I think its all taking a little too lightly. Or maybe I need to lighten up a bit. Who knows. 

Leave a Reply

