Quick Review: Let Me In

I have seen the Swedish movie Matt Reeve’s Let Me In was based on (Låt den rätte komma in) however I don’t really think I remember it that well. Certain scenes definitely had a weird sense of deja vu. Some were basically shot on the same set. For a remake they did pretty well, the film carries the same mood, and its still oddly beautiful. Again, I have to say I don’t remember the Swedish one that well, but what from I do remember, wouldn’t have dubbing it just have been easier and cheaper, if people didn’t want to read subtitles? 

Chloë Moretz was creepy, as she should have been, although an American 12 year old girl vampire is a little less believable and less interesting. Kodi Smit-McPhee was exactly as I remember Oskar to be. I actually felt so bad for him in the bullying scenes. 

I didn’t quite see the point of the Romeo + Juliet symbolism. Using the line “I must be gone and live, or stay and die” was sweet, but just unnecessary. Or seriously underdeveloped. Even Twilight tries to compare the vampire/human love story to that of Romeo + Juliet, but I really don’t think it works in the same way. 

I’m not so keen on the way Matt Reeves chose to start the film either, with the flashback and then getting to the present half way through. Maybe if I hadn’t seen the original it may have held greater suspense for me, but it didn’t quite do it for me. 

Leave a Reply

